Strong Emotional Investment In D&D Characters

strong-emotional-investment-in-dnd-characters-00

The RPG playing people who have gotten to know me seem rather surprised by how emotionally attached I become to my characters, but there is a reason for that.

When I create a new D&D character, I take it seriously in my own unique way rather than just “throwing something together”. It does take me a while to finish creating new characters time-wise, but each step is looked at, thought over, guided by intuition, and considered with one thing in mind:

If through some supra-natural act I woke up as this person tomorrow, would I, could I actually be happy living as and just “being” this individual?

That may seem a bit like overkill just for creating a D&D character, but I find these characters to be extremely enjoyable, fun, and memorable to play. I also get to let a lot of myself shine through with these characters as well.

Perhaps there will be a day when I can be more relaxed about the characters I create and play, but until then, I will keep pouring a nice touch of “heart and soul” into each and every one of them.

About Akeisha Roberts

I am a Dungeons & Dragons player who loves the classic BECMI, AD&D 1st Edition, and 5th Edition rule sets. I am also quite fond of Star Frontiers and Star Wars WEG d6. My Moonhaven Forest blog is a place for me to share my ideas and thoughts for these lovely games. You can visit me on Twitter as well. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strong Emotional Investment In D&D Characters

  1. I think I’m the opposite. I know what it feels like to be me.(it’s great 😀 ) but I’m curious about other people. I’d like to know: “what does it feel like to be them?” So I create characters who definitely are not me, and try to get inside their skins. Sometimes it nearly works. I keep trying. 🙂

    Like

  2. I am not afraid to make a stretch for something different that interests me like an “unusual to me” class, background, etc. just so long as I could actually be happy if I unexpectedly woke up as that person. 🙂

    But I will also admit that I bring part of myself along too so that I end up with a “hybrid” for lack of a better way to put it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

