The Tree That Inspired A Forest

sycamore-tree-limb-(765-545)-greener

Just about anyone who has ever played D&D has encountered at least one real-life location or “object” that has served as inspiration for something awesome in their game world. For me, it was a Sycamore Tree behind the house I finished growing up in…

Sycamore Tree limb photo by rycheme.

About the time that family and friends introduced me to D&D, I also got settled into a freshly painted bedroom on the back side of the house where we were living. Within approximately 25 feet of my bedroom window was a huge twin-trunked Sycamore Tree.

I thought this tree was beautiful to look at in the daylight, but it really took on a magical quality all its own on nights with plenty of moonlight to set the bark aglow! Then add in a light breeze to stir the leaves and set them whispering and it was perfection (to me).

I could picture such a majestic tree being in the care of Elves who would have also made their home in its lovely branches. I used to stand at my window, stare up into that tree, and daydream about the possibilities.

It was not long before that beautiful tree inspired “The Wild Wood”…a forest made up solely of these majestic trees in my “then” BECMI D&D campaign area. I drew up the wilderness map for it and all was well.

While I no longer have the original map (sadly enough!), I have decided to bring “The Wild Wood” back into my current BECMI campaign with a few tweaks. Now it will be located in a secret Feywild ruled valley where it is perpetually Summer year-round and its magical qualities are stronger than ever. I am truly looking forward to exploring this wondrous forest once again!

What real-life locations or “objects” have served as inspiration for your campaigns? Share them in the comments!

About Akeisha Roberts

I am a Dungeons & Dragons player who loves the classic BECMI, AD&D 1st Edition, D&D 3rd Edition, and 5th Edition rule sets. I am also quite fond of Pathfinder and Star Frontiers. My Moonhaven Forest blog is a place for me to share my ideas and thoughts for these lovely games. You can visit me on Twitter as well. :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

